IRTS Exam 2019: Eligibility, Important Dates, Application, Syllabus, Admit Card, etc

About IRTS Exam: The Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS) is one of the Group ‘A’ services one can be recruited into on clearing the civil services exam conducted by the UPSC every year. This service primarily manages the transportation department of the Indian railways. This is the service responsible for revenue generation in the railways. To recruit department for Indian Railway, there is an entrance exam conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).


IRTS Details

The Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS) is civil service or a competitive exam in India conducted by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) India. The exam is held for the recruitment of Department of Indian Railways.

Indian Railway Traffic Service Salary

GradeDesignation in Field (Commercial)Designation in Field (Operations)Designation in RailwaysPay Scale
Junior Time ScaleAssistant Commercial ManagerAssistant Operations Manager——Rs.15,600-39100
Grade Pay Rs.5400
Senior Time ScaleDivisional Commercial ManagerDivisional Operations Manager——Rs.15,600-39,100
Grade Pay Rs.6600
Junior Administrative GradeSenior Divisional Commercial ManagerSenior Divisional Operations Manager——Rs.15,600-39,100
Grade Pay Rs.7600
Selection GradeSenior Divisional Commercial Manager/ Deputy Chief Commercial ManagerSenior Divisional Operations Manager/ Deputy Chief

Operations Manager

Grade Pay Rs.8700
Senior Administrative GradeChief Commercial Manager/ Chief Claims OfficerChief

Operations Manager/ Chief Freight

Transportation Manager/ Chief Passenger Transportation Manager/  Chief Traffic

Planning Manager

Executive Director


Grade Pay Rs.10,000
Higher Administrative GradeChief Commercial ManagerChief

Operations Manager

Additional Member/ Additional Advisor


Higher Administrative Grade +————Member (Traffic)80000

Eligibility Criteria of IRTS Exam


  • Participate should be a citizen of India
  • Participants should belong to Indian Origin or have been migrated from Pakistan, Ethiopia, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Vietnam, Kenya, Malawi, Myanmar, Zaire, or Sri Lanka with an intention of thoroughly living in India
  • Participants should be a citizen of Bhutan or Nepal
  • Participants have to be a Tibetan Refugee who got here in India before January 1, 1962, as well as settled thoroughly in India

Educational Qualification:

  • Participants with technical and professional qualifications recognized by the Government or its equivalent can also apply
  • The participants should hold a Bachelor’s Degree from any of the recognized Universities.
  • Participants who’ve regarded or to appear for the qualifying exam and are waiting for outcomes are also eligible to appear for the Preliminary Exam. For these applicants, it is recommended to have a proof showing that he/she has appeared for the said exam.
  • Participants who’ve qualified the final year of MBBS or any other Medical Examination but are but still pending with their internship program can also appear for the Main Examination. However, they ought to submit the certificate or application written by the concerned university revealing that you have passed out the final year examination.

Age Limit:

  • Minimum Age: 21 years
  • Maximum Age: 32 years

Age Relaxation:

  • For participants domiciled in the State of Jammu & Kashmir (from the 1st January, 1980 to the 31st December, 1989): 5 years
  • For Defense Services personnel: 3 years
  • For OBC (Other Backward Classes) candidates: 3 years
  • For ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered an initial period of assignment of 5 years of Military Service as on 1st August, 2015: 5 years
  • For the deaf, blind, and Orthopaedically handicapped participants: 10 years
  • For SC/ST participants: 5 years
  • For participants belong to the State of Jammu & Kashmir: 5 years

Number of attempts

  • For Physically handicapped participants: 9 attempts
  • For SC/ST (Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe) participants: Unlimited
  • For General category participants: 6 attempts
  • For OBC (Other Backward Classes) participants: 9 attempts

IRTS Application & Registration Form 2019

To get registered for the Indian Railway Traffic Service or IRTS exam, the participants are requested to fill up the application form through online only. No other mode is acceptable. The participants are requested to take the help of to download the application form. Participants are recommend to apply or submit a single application only.

IRTS Exam Pattern and Syllabus

The IRTS Civil Services Exam 2019 will conduct in three stages namely, Prelims, Mains, and Interview.

1. Preliminary Examination (400 Marks)

The preliminary examination is also called as Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT). It has two papers of 200 marks each. Both papers will be of two hours as well as set in both English and Hindi.

2. Main Examination (2025 Marks)

Only candidates who will qualify for Prelims will be eligible to attempt for the Main exam. The Mains syllabus of IRTS 2019 is basically designed to analyse the participant’s academic expertise in his/her particular subject.

This exam will have 9 papers and its syllabus is designed as per the subjects specified. also, the Main exam will be written test like the Preliminary exam.

3. Interview

Once cleared the above steps, the succeeding will be an interview.

Important Dates for IRTS Exam 2019 

Date of Notification for IRTS Civil ServicesUpdate Soon
Online Registration Start DateUpdate Soon
End date of online submissionUpdate Soon
Admit Card (Preliminary Examination)Three Weeks Before The Examination Starts
Civil services Preliminary examination dateUpdate Soon
IRTS Civil services main examination dateUpdate Soon


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here